Learning Time

We are nearing the time for the Bundle to start formal education, and I still had not made a firm decision on whether I was going to homeschool or not. The Man was even on board, but truthfully I felt intimidated and kind of scared. It is such a big responsibility, plus, what if I get into a rut and can’t get myself to “teach”.

study1075

All those fears went away this particular morning when we sat down at the dining table to have some unofficial learning time. The Bundle has a very strong desire for learning, but she doesn’t see it as such. In her eyes, she is just playing, doing what she does.

study1074

She is so interested in reading and writing lately and she is daily asking me how to write certain words. I love the use of technology for this purpose. She would use a phonics app to sound pronounce the word and she would write it on a piece of paper.

This gave me a glimpse of how beautiful learning at home will be, free, without restrictions or rules telling her how or what or when to learn something. Alway at her pace, her interests!

I have, with The Man’s input, selected a curriculum we will be using as a guidance with a more open and unchooling approach. I hope we can attend a homeschool convention this year and start schooling officially in late summer. I am excited!

 

Leave a Reply

