The birth kit is here!

My birth kit arrived today! It is always an exciting pregnancy milestone, remember last time? I had received a notification in my email that it was expected to come today, so I patiently waited all day.

Right after we got done having lunch is when I heard the UPS man pull up. I ran to my bedroom to grab my camera and ran back to the door and quickly snapped a picture of him. He must have thought I was the strangest person, his look on his face was priceless…and it made me embarrassed!

The girls were so interested in all the commotion I was making.

So they helped me open it.

And if you are curious about what exactly comes in a birth kit, here is a list:

  • Underpads, to protect the bed/couch when you lay on it
  • More underpads, different size
  • Poly backed sheets, again, for protecting the bed/covers
  • Guaze
  • Sterile Exam gloves
  • Non sterile exam gloves
  • OB Pad, not sure which one that is
  • Peri bottle for post-partum
  • Bendy straws for drinking during labor
  • Sexy underwear
  • Feminine pads
  • Little hat for baby
  • Tape measure
  • Bulb Syringe
  • Goldenseal Capsules for the baby’s bellybutton
  • Scrub brush for the midwife to clean and prep her hands/arms before the birth
  • Cord ring

That’s it, pretty simple, you don’t need much.

 

Next, we will be waiting for the birth pool….oooh, more excitement! It’s getting so close!

 

 

5 thoughts on “The birth kit is here!

Leave a Reply

