I Had A Birthday

I had a birthday at the beginning of the month. It was quiet, it was lovely, it was everything I wanted it to be. I take it as a sign of growing up, of maturity, but my own birthdays are just another day. Not that I don’t want to have a special time, I do, but it’s different. When I was younger, I remember having this excitement all day long, of expectation, as if someone, perhaps a complete stranger, was going to jump from around the corner holding a dozen balloons and exclaim “Happy Birthday!” out of nowhere. Well, not literally, but you get the point.

Now, as a very mature woman I am đŸ˜‰Â  all I hope on my birthday is that I’m able to enjoy the “little” things in my life, and breathe them all in with a long, slow breath.

So on a beautiful Tuesday morning, I went for a walk with my daughters, and enjoyed my surroundings.

 

We went to our favorite park, it was a little farther than I thought, so I got a little winded. When we got there, a certain little Pumpkin was sleeping peacefully.

 

The Bundle ran and roamed freely. I love watching her freedom that she has, running from me, or swinging in a swing.

Then we had a little snack of strawberries and nuts.

 

 

After a while we headed home, and again I looked around and took in some details that I normally would not have. Like the contrast between the dark pavement and a white line in a parking lot.

 

Or little signs of spring showing up everywhere.

That evening we went to my parents’ house for dinner and a movie. All in all, a great day.

 

My awesome parents also got me birthday money. Birthday money! So I finally got a new lens for my camera that I had been dreaming about for months!

Here is a little taste of the new lens:

 

I am in love already!

Leave a Reply

