Soul

“Phisical sickness we usually defy. Soul sickness we often resign ourselves to.” Mark Buchanan

I’ve been doing some soul searching.

Because my soul belongs to Jesus Christ, my soul searching involves and revolves around Him.

 

 

I’m reading an awesome book called “Crazy Love” by Francis Chan. Wow. Talk about deep, excruciating, life-altering, soul renewal.

I started reading this book a few months ago, because we were going to study it in my Sunday School class, but the rest of the study material was on back order so we postponed that study until “further notice.” I had already read three chapters of the book but I really wanted to get the full “effect” with the study so I stopped reading, hoping we wouldn’t have to wait long. Well, it’s been about three months and we haven’t done the study yet, so I just decided to pick up the book again, knowing I needed some renewal, I was stuck in what is known as comfortableness, and it was making me…uncomfortable.

Chan writes in a very straight forward manner, he doesn’t sugar coat what he is trying to tell us. He knows it will insult some, but because he is so passionate about sharing what God has placed in his heart, he tells us anyway. There are so many parts in this book that caught me off-guard, I broke down, wimpering, crying out to God.

“Have I really been so cruel, so indifferent?!”

 I wanted the anwser to be, no. But, I knew otherwise.

 

There are many parts I wish to share with you, but because this would just be writing down the entire book, I will share the central, most important message in Christianity.

Love.

Yes, love. God’s amazing, “radical, unconditional, self-sacrificing” love.

 

I knew God loved me, but I didn’t comprehend the extent of His love. This passage trully opened my eyes.

“The very fact that a holy, eternal, all-knowing, all-powerful, merciful, fair, and just God loves you and me is nothing short of astonishing. The wildest part is that Jesus doesn’t have to love us. His being is utterly complete and perfect, apart from humanity. He doesn’t need me or you. Yet He wants us, chooses us, even considers us His inheritance. The greastest knowledge we can ever have is knowing God treasures us. The irony is that while God doesn’t need us but still wants us, we desperately need God but don’t really want Him most of the time.”

 So true. I was all caught up in myself, I knew that God loved me, but I didn’t act like it. I need to live out my love for Him, and that is done by showing love to others.  Taking myself out of the equation. Tough to do in this self-centered world.

“God doesn’t call us to be comfortable. He calls us to trust Him so completely that we are unafraid to put ourselves in situations where we will be in trouble if He doesn’t come through.”

 I am ready to put my faith in action. To go wherever God decides for me to go. God doesn’t want half of me, it’s all or nothing. That’s what I’ll give.

My all.

 

 

One thought on “Soul

  1. D. Stanley

    Hey Silvia,

    I have just been introduced to your blog and although it is laced with some of the things that are very much close to my heart , I also love it for many other reasons.

    You have done a great job af putting random thoughts into beautiful form and I am drawn to know what will be posted next. Your thoughts bring joy and encouragment.

    Keep it up. Awesome job.

    Love ya lots

    Reply

Leave a Reply

