Illness has taken over our household

The past couple weeks have been tough, two thirds of our household has fallen into some sort of sickness. I battled last week, I had a very bothersome sore throat that invaded my whole body, giving me fever and body ache. All I wanted to do was sleep. Sadly I couldn’t because it happened to fall on my two days of work, so I toughed it out, and so did my strong little body. It managed to go through it drug-free, I did gargle some apple cider vinegar one morning and I came close to barfing. It was disgusting!
The Bundle, on the other hand, has had it worse. It started out as a cold, before my own sickness. Then it seemed like it was going away after a few days of fighting it away with a fever, sniffles, all the other calamities that usually accompany a cold.
It didn’t go away.
No, it did not, the fever kept coming back, we were up at night holding her while she cried. I felt so helpless, not being able to help my hurting baby. Hubby kept telling me to give her something for the fever, but fever is good for you, it really is. It fights off whatever infection your body has. Why would I want to stop it from doing its job? A couple of days went by and the bundle’s ear starts oozing yellowish liquid. Great, it was an ear infection!
This is where the parental guilt grew stronger, was it my fault for not wanting to give her any meds? I did it thinking of the best for her. I think every parent feels that way every once in a while. So, we put some hydrogen peroxide in her ear and yes, I caved in, some pain reliever. That was painful, almost against my own will. The next day she was doing a lot better. Was it the pain medicine? Maybe. The peroxide? I think so.
If you’ve been wondering why I’ve been missing (if there is anyone out there at all ;)) this is what I’ve been doing! I have a couple posts I’ve been wanting to finish. I will get to them soon!
So what is the moral of the story? I don’t know, it certainly doesn’t mean that next time I will hurry to the pharmacy and drug up a family member. All I know is that I’m happy that my bundle is doing well.

Leave a Reply

