Water, Water everywhere…. and Stew

It was wet. It was windy. It was cold. And it was wild.

We’ve been getting crazy weather this past week. It’s kind of exciting.

Until you get a tornado warning!

Yep, we did.

So we watched “Twister” and made some stew to go along with the weather 🙂

Beef Stew:

First, brown the meat (don’t mind my dirty stove :P).  Add salt and pepper to taste and throw in some fresh garlic if you’d like. I like.

Then you add a can of diced tomatoes.

Let them cook with the meat for a minute or two then add some water. I added 6 cups, 4 would have been perfect.

Add some more salt, pepper and spices. I added rosemary.

Let it boil on high then turn it down and let it simmer for a while, an hour is good.

While it simmers, chop up some veggies: potatoes, celery, carrots, onions and bell peppers were my choice.

Oh, and I decided to put some mushrooms in it at the last minute.

After the meat simmer for about an hour you can go ahead and throw in your veggies.

Check to see if it needs more salt… mine did! Then add some cornstarch to thicken it.

When the vegetables are nice and soft, the stew is ready! You can also let the stew, stew for longer if you want.

Homemade cornbread would go perfectly with this stew! I really wanted some, but we didn’t have cornmeal and you can’t blame me for not wanting to go out in the rain to get some!

 

 

This is what I did while I waited for the stew:

I opened the back door to check out the storm and faster than the lightning in the sky, the bundle runs out and starts going down the steps.

 

 

Happy Stewing 🙂

Leave a Reply

